Luxury Concierge Services


The Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly (ESPY) Awards is an accolade presented by the ABC’s network ESPN to recognize individual/team athletic achievement and other sports-related performances during the calendar year preceding a given annual ceremony. As the similarly-styled Grammys, Emmys, and Academy Awards, the ESPYs are hosted by a contemporary celebrity; the style, however, is more relaxed, light, and self-referential than that of many other awards shows, with comedic sketches usually included.

Prior to 2004, only fans from the general public were able to vote for their favorite celebrities, athletes, and teams. Since that time however, ESPN has opened up voting not only to the general public, but more specifically to sportscasters, coaches, executives, and other athletes. Award winners are selected exclusively through online fan balloting conducted from amongst candidates selected by the ESPY Select Nominating Committee. The first seven editions of the ESPYs were held in New York City; in 1993 and 1994 at Madison Square Garden and from 1995 through 1999, at Radio City Music Hall. The awards relocated to Las Vegas, Nevada, for two years beginning in 2000, and ultimately settled at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood, California. In 2006, it was announced that the awards would move in 2008 to the Nokia Theatre, to be situated as the West Coast headquarters of ESPN at LA Live, adjacent to the Staples Center in Los Angeles, California.

The ceremonies have been hosted variously by comedians, television and film actors, and sportspeople. American film actor Samuel L. Jackson is the only individual to have hosted four times (in 1999, 2001, 2002, and 2009); American comedian Dennis Miller, American film actor and singer Jamie Foxx and actor and comedian Seth Meyers are the only others to have hosted the awards ceremonies more than once. This is your chance to hang out with your favorite celebs, coaches, and athletes from around the wide world of sports!